Baseball: Scott Rolen inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2023

Baseball: Scott Rolen inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2023
Written by nismiste
Baseball: Scott Rolen inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2023

Scott Rolen was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame.

He is the only former player to be selected. The announcement was made by the temple in the early evening.

Players are elected when they receive 75% of the votes cast by eligible voting members. On the 389 ballot papers, eight of which were anonymous, candidates had to receive a total of 292 votes to be elected. His candidacy was protected by five votes.

Rolen was the only person to reach this threshold with 297 votes, representing 76.3% of the 28 candidates. During the 2023 intro weekend in Cooperstown on July 21-24, a ceremony on the grounds of the Clark Sports Center on July 23 will honor Fred McGriff, who was selected by the Players Committee of contemporary baseball era last month in San. Diego.

“You don’t think about it. You’re thinking about doing your best,” Rolen reacted. I never thought the Hall of Fame was an option. »

Also honored this weekend will be Pat Hughes, winner of the Ford C. Frick Award for Baseball Broadcasting, and John Lowe, Lifetime Achievement Award winner for Baseball Writing.

Rolen, 47, who was elected in the sixth year of voting eligibility, was part of the Philadelphia Phillies, St. He had a career .281 batting average with 1,287 RBIs with the Louis Cardinals, Blues Toronto Jays and Cincinnati Reds.

His 2,077 hits included 517 doubles, 43 triples and 316 home runs. He won the 1997 National League Rookie of the Year Jackie Robinson Award – a unanimous selection – with the Phillies.

In addition to being named to the All-Star team seven times, he earned eight Gold Gloves and a Silver Baton. He finished fourth in the National MVP voting with Cards in 2004.

This makes Rolen the 18th third baseman admitted to Cooperstown.

Is Helton next?

Colorado Rockies first baseman Todd Helton took a big step towards a possible election, with 72.1% of the vote (281 votes) compared to 52% in 2022. 51% to 68.1% with 265 votes.

Five years of eligibility remain at Helton and two years at Wagner.

A few other players also made big gains: Andruw Jones jumped from 41.1% to 58.1% and Gary Sheffield from 40.6% to 55%.

But Jeff Kent’s time is up: In the final year of his 10-year eligibility, he won the favor of 46.5% of voters, compared to 32.7% in 2022. Sheffield has one year left to fill the void.

Among the 14 players whose numbers appeared at the polls for the first time, Carlos Beltran received a total of 181 votes (46.5%), which was probably colored by his involvement in the Houston Astros signal theft scandal in 2017.

Players to be listed for the first time next year include Adrian Beltre, Joe Mauer, Jose Bautista and Matt Holiday.

Source link

About the author


Leave a Comment