2024 President’s Cup: Mike Weir to captain international team in Montreal

Canadian Mike Weir will captain the international team for the 2024 President’s Cup, which will be held at the Royal Montreal Golf Club in Quebec for the first time since 2007.

Weir, Canada’s most award-winning male player, has attended the event five times and served as vice-captain three times. However, it will be his first experience as a captain.

The 52-year-old Ontarian has won eight PGA Tour events in his career, including the prestigious Masters Tournament in 2003.

Weir was an assistant in the final edition in 2022, when the international team lost 17.5 to 12.5 against the United States. He will try to lead international players to a first place in the competition 15 times.

“The President’s Cup has been a big part of my career, so it’s surreal to be here right now as captain of the 2024 International Team,” Weir said in a statement.

“Looking back, I have so many incredible memories of this event, whether it’s my debut in 2000, my singles beat Tiger at the Royal Montreal in 2007, watching Ernie create the Shield in 2019, and then Trevor In 2022. Looking forward to the 2024 Cup, I couldn’t be happier to take the international team to Canada and it will be the experience of my life for it. »

The first Canadian to enter the tournament has a record of 13-9-2 wins in the tournament.

“With Mike Weir, captain of the 2024 International Team, international players will continue to rise in unwavering support for their players and the President’s Cup,” said PGA TOUR Commissioner Jay Monahan. “Mixed with pedigree as a player and Presidents Cup pedigree as both player and vice-captain, Mike is the right leader at the right time as the Presidents Cup returns to Montreal. As an icon of his country, he will definitely have the full support of Canadian fans to give the international team a clear advantage on the pitch.

Founded in 1873, the Royal Montreal club is the oldest club in North America. The blue track was developed by architect Dick Wilson and updated by Rees Jones in 2004 and 2005. In addition to the President’s Cup, the RBC Canadian Open has been staged there 10 times, but not since 2014.

Source link

About the author


Leave a Comment